Adventures in Deltiology

Do people still send postcards these days…?

From Jack Richardson, New Zealand Rifle Brigade, 1917…

Reblogging from my Greetings from Carlisle postcard blog, on the eve of Armistice Day:

Greetings from Carlisle

On the centenary of the outbreak of the First World War I’ve decided to write about a particular postcard that I came upon last year while visiting Carlisle. Always on my trips home I pop into Caerel Stamps, a fantastic little shop tucked away in Friars Court, in the city centre and I’ve picked up many of the postcards in my collection from there. On this occasion I broke my golden rule for choosing postcards (that they must be postally used) and purchased the card below, written in 1917 by a soldier on leave, visiting the city.

scan0002scan0003

Carlisle 23-8-17

Dear Ruby, Just a line hoping to find you in good health as this leaves me in the pink. I am in Blighty on ten days leave and it is a treat to get home once more to see the old home but I wouldn’t live here again. NZ will…

View original post 1,657 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Categories

